In pursuit

As you may or may not have noticed, there hasn’t been a new post on this blog in over four months. I am kind of the queen of unplanned hiatuses, that has been evident here from the beginning, but four months? Unprecedented. My mom is mad about it, told me my “time off is over.” This was yesterday. So I figure it’s time to address the matter, time to give a straightforward answer to the question I’ve been asked by more people than I ever would have expected: when am I coming back?

Here is my straightforward answer: I’m not.

This may seem a callous response to people showing support of my writing, but I’m not done yet –

I’m not coming back here. This will be my last post at this url. I do plan to come back to the blog world at some point, although probably not until June, when I have the time to lay things out. Originally, I wanted to wait until then to be like “hey! I’m done here, and I moved somewhere else!” But June is pretty far off, isn’t it? My readers have been so loyal and kind and patient since day one, and I don’t want to take that for granted.

So why would I want to start a new blog rather than continue here? This is something I’ve been thinking about since last June, and there are so many reasons that have come to mind in the months since. Since we all know I love lists…

  1. In my own Hierarchy of Life Priorities, blogging has obviously tumbled through the ranks since the start of my last year of college. I’ve budgeted literally zero time for it. My life has managed to fill itself with other things. And I don’t want to leave this corner of the internet deserted for nearly a year, only to come back an older and much different person with new ideas as to what I want to achieve here – it would be a little jarring. So, to me, it makes sense to start again in an entirely new corner of the internet.
  2. I don’t want the majority of my site traffic to be a result of people googling young actors’ facial injuries, damn it. Chace Crawford, I am leaving you and your perpetual fat lip behind.
  3. I started this blog when I was 18; the world felt like a different thing to me then. I did have objectives for my writing at that age, but they’ve changed. A lot. Like to the point that I’m still figuring out what they’ve changed into. I know I don’t want my blog to be exclusively about me. My thoughts, my experiences, things that irritate me, songs that I can’t stop listening to. There will always be an element of those things – who can truly separate herself from them? – but I’d like my lens to be a little bigger. As I said, still figuring out what that means and how to make it happen. That’s why I need a few more months, and probably more hours in the day.
  4. On a purely aesthetic level, yes, I just want an excuse to design a new site.
  5. I think it’s safe to assume all of you have picked up on the fact that I want to be a writer. And with that as a life, if not career, goal, I want to start holding myself to a higher standard. That’s not to say I want to suck all the fun out of it, rather the opposite – I want to put more thought into the creativity of the endeavor, the craft of it, the planning, the gathering of information. All of that. If that doesn’t sound fun to you, my hope is that it will at least be fun to read. We’ll see what happens.

For the record, I do like the things I’ve written on this site. I’m proud of quite a few of them. And for that reason and others, I’m not going to delete any of it – it’ll still be here if you ever want to read my thoughts about the series finale of Gossip Girl or the rude people in Florida. I’m not leaving Mishaps & Musings in any bitterness (although I’ve grown to hate alliteration in the past few years). I am leaving in pursuit.

So when that day comes – when I’ve created something new and I think it’s worth sharing – I will update this post with my new url, and you can follow me there if you so choose. In the meantime, I’ll be drinking lots of coffee, reading lots of books, and wishing I could be almost-22 forever and ever and ever.

Thank you for reading, today and every other time. I am so, so appreciative.

Leave a Reply

